Sited in the heart of the walled medieval city, St Audoen’s Church is the oldest remaining medieval parish church in Dublin. It is dedicated to St Ouen the 7th century bishop of Rouen and patron saint of Normandy.
Most of the building is maintained by the Office of Public Works, whose Visitor Centre is open in the warmer months. The Guild Chapel of St Anne houses an award-winning exhibition on the importance of St Audoen’s Church in the life of the medieval city.
Visitors to St Audoen’s can see the part of the church still in use by the Church of Ireland as a parish church. They can also view the 17th century memorials to the Sparke and Duff families and the 15th century effigial tomb to Baron Portlester and his wife.
St Audoen’s Visitor Centre opens daily from 9.30am to 5.30pm from early April to 31st October. Admission is free.
Explore Dublin's Viking and early medieval origins with this multimedia exhibition and visitor attraction.
Dublin's oldest pub dating to 1198
Experience over 1,000 of history at Christ Church Cathedral, which has been a centre of religious and political life in the city since medieval times.
Cycle Dublin Bike Tours specialise in guided sightseeing tours around the city. See Dublin on two wheels with a professional, friendly guide on our bespoke…
Located in the heart of the historic St James's Gate Brewery, The Guinness Storehouse is Ireland's No. 1 tourist attraction, celebrating over 250 years of brewing tradition as the Home of the Black Stuff.
The Tailors' Hall is Dublin's only surviving guildhall. Guilds were professional trades associations which once held huge sway in the commercial life of the city.…