St. Catherine’s – C.O.R.E. is a vibrant, protestant community church who have been based in the heart of Dublin city (beside the Guinness Storehouse) since the 1990s. In addition to being a place of worship, CORE also has a strong community outreach ethos and supports many activities in the area. Part of the Church of Ireland, CORE warmly welcomes people of all traditions, backgrounds and ages. Join them on Sunday mornings at 11.00am to worship God together.
The present church building, designed by John Smyth, was completed in 1769 and is one of the finest Georgian churches in the city. The church was closed by the Church of Ireland in 1966 in response to difficulties in maintaining its portfolio of city-centre churches with small numbers of parishioners. After a number of years of decline and disrepair, the church was restored and re-consecrated in 1998.
The Graveyard to the rear, which is now owned by Dublin City Council, was opened as public park in 1986.